Home » Uncategorized » Pole pole

Pole pole

I can’t believe a month has already passed! It feels like it went by so quickly and I have hardly been able to keep up with all that we’re preparing for in the upcoming two months.

Since arriving back in Tanzania I’ve managed to move into my new humble home in Tanga and get into the rhythm of living on my own. I’ve been so used to eating out and with other families that the task of cooking for myself and anyone else who may be visiting has been a surprisingly difficult one. It seems strange that it would be so difficult considering how much I love to cook at home… Ask anyone in my family. πŸ™‚ I think that the lack of an oven, different ingredients, etc just leaves me a little jumbled as to WHAT to cook. I have to develop a bit of a new imagination for meals.

I’ve also had the chance to go and visit our library in Kwekitui. Rodgers and I spent one day at the library. I took a look at the new solar panel system, browsed through some new books, got an update on library use, and heard so many wonderful dreams that Rodgers has for the library. Some of them are meant to be surprises though and so I will have to wait to tell you about them.

I am really looking forward to the librarian’s conference that will be happening August 8th and 9th in Kwekitui. Rodgers is also looking forward to it. We’ve been working hard to get as many details in place as possible to make it as smooth and enjoyable as possible… leaving more time and energy for sessions and visiting.

I’ve also had some meetings with a representative from the Lutheran Church Diocese of the north. They are working on building a community library in a small village near Moshi. They have already started fundraising the money for it through various community members here in Tanzania. I am very impressed with their efforts and success in raising the money and so I have agreed to visit the site and offer any advice I can based on my experiences so far in building a library from the ground up. The representative, Julius Shoo, has also agreed to attend the librarian’s conference at Kwekitui Library.

I best be going before the power cuts out again. Last time I was here I wrote a niiiice long update but just as I was getting ready to post it the power went out in the internet cafe… Power rationing… a daily occurrence here in Tanga. I’ve gotten used to it now, but at first it was a bit frustrating.

Until next time… πŸ™‚

1 Comment

  1. Melody says:

    Hi Sarah! Thanks for the update. It is refreshing to see you run ahead with dreams and seeing faith put into action. Your Mom talks about you every week at church and we are praying for your health πŸ™‚ I miss you and I love you!
    Mel

Leave a Reply

