Home » Uncategorized » Missing my friends

Missing my friends

What a SUMMER.  It has been a long time since I worked a full time (we’re talking 7 days a week, 10-12 hours a day) paying job for a summer.  This summer I worked at Red Pine Wilderness Lodge, a fishing camp in Northern Ontario where I had previously worked at three seasons (2004, 2005 & 2006).  It was great to be back with friends (James, Janice and Liz) and all the friendly faces of guests.

This summer I have had little time to dedicate to blogging and library communication, but I am happy to say that there are only good things to report.

Kwekitui Community Library is plugging along.  Rodgers, our head librarian, is dreaming of furthering his education.  Although it would take him away from the job it is a very wonderful idea and we are encouraging him in any way we can.  Who knows what the future will bring.  The biggest challenge we are facing in the library is the lack of secondary school textbooks to help the students in the neighboring village study.  The funds are in place, so we are just waiting for Tanga Youth Development Association to organize the odering and purchase.

Chamazi Community Library has been hopping with activity!  UVIKIUTA has been taking full advantage of their relatively new library by hosting literacy events, inviting community members as well as involving their international volunteers from all over East Africa and the world.  I am very excited to see where this community takes their library and where their library takes their community!!

On another note, I have been invited to participate in an international forum at the end of October, hosted by Canada World Youth.  It will take place in Montreal and will host 80 participants from all around Canada and the world.  When I know more I will let you know!  I think it is going to be a great forum!

Leave a Reply

